Los Danzantes

...is a group of restaurateurs that currently operates three restaurants in Mexico City and another in Oaxaca City. An hour's drive from there is the Destilería Los Danzantes in Santiago Matatlán. This distillery was purchased and remodeled in 1997, but without abandoning traditional and artisanal production. Initially, the Mezcal produced there was to be offered only in the restaurants, the sale to end customers and export arose later.

 

 

Los Danzantes was founded in 1995 and has been dedicated to a contemporary interpretation of traditional Mexican cuisine since a time when it was not trendy and hip. This has always included Mexican distilled spirits and wine. Ingredients were purchased locally and seasonally to support local suppliers. This philosophy is followed at the distillery as well: Agave is purchased from growers in the region, and the horse Sansón, which pulls the tahona, is rented from a neighbor. Jobs in bottling are filled by women, who thus have their own income and can work flexibly. Machine bottling is therefore deliberately avoided. The distillery is thus integrated into a locally adapted value-added process.

 

 

The classic line of Mezcal Los Danzantes consists of Espadín with one unaged (Joven) and two barrel-aged (Reposado and Añejo) variants. In addition, a Pechuga and some varietal spirits are made (Arroqueño, Sierra Negra, Tobalá). And depending on the availability of raw material, limited special bottlings, some of which are agave blends.

 

 

The peculiarity of Destillería Los Danzantes is the combination of traditional methods with a modern technical approach. The distillery has its own laboratory and always carries out experimental productions. At the same time, the work is strictly traditional and artisanal. With Karina Abad Rojas, the Los Danzantes distillery not only has a female boss, she is also a trained biochemist. In addition, the owners of Mezcal Los Danzantes have a gastronomic approach, which is clearly different from a purely entrepreneurial one. The product, its creation and taste are the focus, not marketing.

 

 

Another project of Los Danzantes is Mezcal Alipús. This umbrella brand unites traditional distillers from different regions of Oaxaca. It is a social project with no significant income for the brand owners.

 

Alle Mezcal Alipús in SHOP

Sustainability

Since 2014, Los Danzantes has been running the Proyecto Maguey together with the Centro de Investigación Científica de Yucatán (CICY) and the University of Chapingo. In order to reduce the demand pressure on wild agave, plants from natural germplasm are propagated and raised here for later maturation in field cultivation or the landscape. This project is an adapted, sustainable response to the increasing demand for Mezcal, as are the conservation activities of Real Minero, Don Mateo or the Bat Friendly Project.

 

 

All Los Danzantes in SHOP

 

Mezcal Los Danzantes on the Web:

Home

Maps

 

Articles

Part 1 and Part 2

of the blog of K&L Wines, CA

 

Image & Sound

Podcast Podcast Mezcal del Bueno with Maestra Mezcalera Karina Abad (span./ 15min.)

Video interview with Chef Hugo Arnaud about the Los Danzantes restaurants (span.+ engl. UT / 3min.)

Video interview with sous-chef Itzel about her food pairing with mezcal (span.+ engl. UT / 4min.)

Imagevideo of Los Danzantes with Karina Abad

 

Further Projects

Mezcal Alipús

Proyecto Maguey

VICE about Proyecto Maguey (span.)

Life & Style about Proyecto Maguey (span.)

Top Mezcaleria Berlin

Los Danzantes

…ist eine Gruppe von Gastronomen, die derzeit drei Restaurants in Mexiko Stadt und ein weiteres in Oaxaca Stadt betreibt. Eine Autostunde von dort befindet sich die Destilería Los Danzantes in Santiago Matatlán. Diese Brennerei wurde 1997 gekauft und umgebaut, ohne jedoch die traditionelle und handwerkliche Produktion aufzugeben. Zunächst sollte der dort produzierte Mezcal nur in den Restaurants angeboten werden, der Verkauf an Endkunden und Export entstand erst später.

 

 

Los Danzantes wurde 1995 gegründet und widmet sich einer zeitgenössischen Interpretation der traditionellen mexikanischen Küche - und das schon seit einer Zeit, als diese nicht trendy und hipp war. Dazu gehörten von je her auch mexikanische Destillate und Wein. Zutaten wurden lokal und saisonal gekauft, um lokale Anbieter zu unterstützen. Diese Philosophie wird auch in der Brennerei verfolgt: Agaven werden von Pflanzern in der Region gekauft, das Pferd Sansón, welches die tahona zieht, vom Nachbarn gemietet. Arbeitsplätze in der Abfüllung werden von Frauen besetzt, die somit ein eigenes Einkommen haben und flexibel arbeiten können. Auf eine maschinelle Abfüllung wird deshalb bewusst verzichtet. Die Destillerie gliedert sich so in einen lokal angepassten Wertschöpfungsprozess ein.

 

 

Die klassische Linie von Mezcal Los Danzantes besteht aus Espadín mit einer ungelagerten (Joven) und zwei fassgelagerten (Reposado und Añejo) Varianten. Außerdem werden ein Pechuga und einige sortenreine Brände angefertigt (Arroqueño, Sierra Negra, Tobalá). Und je nach Verfügbarkeit des Rohmaterials limitierte Sonderabfüllungen, davon einige Agavenmischungen.

 

 

Die Besonderheit der Destillería Los Danzantes ist die Zusammenführung traditioneller Methoden mit einem modernen technischen Ansatz. Die Brennerei verfügt über ein eigenes Labor und führt immer wieder Versuchsproduktionen durch. Gleichzeitig wird strikt traditionell-handwerklich gearbeitet. Mit Karina Abad Rojas hat die Brennerei Los Danzantes nicht nur eine weibliche Chefin, sie ist auch ausgebildete Biochemikerin. Außerdem haben die Eigentümer von Mezcal Los Danzantes einen gastronomischen Ansatz, was sich deutlich von einem rein unternehmerischen unterscheidet. Das Produkt, seine Entstehung und sein Geschmack stehen im Mittelpunkt, nicht das Marketing.

 

 

Ein weiteres Projekt von Los Danzantes ist Mezcal Alipús. Diese Dachmarke vereinigt traditionelle Brenner aus verschiedenen Regionen Oaxacas. Sie ist ein soziales Projekt ohne nennenswerte Einkünfte für die Markeninhaber.

 

Alle Mezcal Alipús im SHOP

Nachhaltigkeit

Seit 2014 betreibt Los Danzantes gemeinsam mit dem Centro de Investigación Científica de Yucatán (CICY) und der Unviversität Chapingo das Proyecto Maguey. Um den Nachfragedruck auf Wildagaven zu senken, werden hier Pflanzen aus natürlichem Keimplasma vermehrt und aufgezogen, um sie später im Feldanbau oder der Landschaft ausreifen zu lassen. Dieses Projekt ist eine angepasste, nachhaltige Antwort auf die steigende Nachfrage nach Mezcal, ebenso wie die Aufzuchtaktivitäten von Real Minero, Don Mateo oder das Bat Friendly Projekt.

 

 

Alle Los Danzantes im SHOP

 

Mezcal Los Danzantes im Netz:

Home

Maps

 

Artikel

1. Teil und 2. Teil

des Blogs von K&L Wines, CA

 

Bild & Ton

Podcast Mezcal del Bueno mit Maestra Mezcalera Karina Abad (span./ 15min.)

Videointerview mit Chef Hugo Arnaud über die Restaurants Los Danzantes (span.+ engl. UT / 3min.)

Videointerview mit Souschef Itzel über ihr Foodpairing mit Mezcal (span.+ engl. UT / 4min.)

Imagevideo von Los Danzantes mit Karina Abad

 

Weitere Projekte

Mezcal Alipús

Proyecto Maguey

VICE über Proyecto Maguey (span.)

Life & Style über Proyecto Maguey (span.)

 

Shop Mezcaleria Berlin