Don Mateo de la Sierra

...is the brand of the Vieyra family from Pino Bonito, Morelia in Michoacan, which has been producing Mezcal since 1840. Emilio Vieyra Vargas is a 6th generation Mezcal distiller, succeeding his father Jose Emilio Vieyra Rangel, who died in 2018. His wife Delia Vargas Vieyra, mother of Emilio Jr and matriarch of the family, also has an important role in the viñata, as the distilleries are known locally. She is a well-known cocinera tradicional (chef) in the region and sets the recipe for Don Mateo's Pechuga, which is distilled with turkey, venison, iguana and hare. Accordingly, she appears as maestra mezcalera and author on this product. The name Don Mateo comes from Emilio's great-grandfather Mateo Rangel, who was the third master distiller of the family and whose portrait appears on the label.

 

 

The Barranca del Agua distillery of the Vieyras is located about an hour's drive from Michoacan's capital Morelia in conifer-rich evergreen mixed forest. Traditionally, the agave species cupreata (Chino), inaequidens (Alto) and americana (Manso, formerly Cenizo) are distilled there, before from wild stocks, today also from breeding. In this process, young plants are grown from seed and planted in their natural habitat.

 

Don Mateo produces with two typical regional techniques: The spontaneous fermentation in earth pits, which are enclosed with oak beams. And a pot still with internal condensation made of copper and wooden staves, locally known as alambique filipino. In this process, instead of two or three, five “cuts”, fractions of the distilled spirit are separated: flor (70-58% vol.), mezcal floreado (58-53%), mezcalito (53-44%), fuertes (44-20%) and colas (20 and less).

 

The water for the preparation of his mash is taken from a spring 200 meters away in the forest. Emilio stores the fresh distillates in an underground room in glass jars for stabilization. His Mezcals are slightly lighter and less smoky compared to those from Oaxaca.

 

Sustainability

Don Mateo is part of the Bat Friendly project. Here, 5% of all agaves in a plantation are always allowed to flower, pollinated by bats that feed on the agave's nectar. The plant can then be reproduced from genetically diverse seeds. This ensures the survival of the endangered Mexican Flowering Bat (Leptonycteris nivalis) as well as the genetic diversity of the agaves. In general, the Vieyras operate without chemicals, neither in agriculture nor in the distillery.

 

Mezcal Don Matero in SHOP

 

Mezcal Don Mateo on the Web:

Home

 

Articles

Mezcal Reviews

K&L about the Pechuga by Delia Vargas

Life&Thyme with detailed article and great pictures about Don Mateo and the Vieyras

 

Image & Sound

Imagefilm from and about Don Mateo (span./ 6 min.)

Short feature about the distillery, interview with Emilio (span./ 9 min.)

Video interview with Delia Vargas about women in the mezcal world (span./ 6 min.)

 

Further Projects

Bat Friendly

Top Mezcaleria Berlin

Don Mateo de la Sierra

…ist die Marke der Familie Vieyra aus Pino Bonito, Morelia in Michoacan, die seit 1840 Mezcal produziert. Emilio Vieyra Vargas ist in 6er Generation Mezcalbrenner und folgt seinem 2018 verstorbenen Vater Jose Emilio Vieyra Rangel nach. Dessen Frau Delia Vargas Vieyra, Mutter von Emilio Jr und Matriarchin der Familie, hat ebenfalls eine wichtige Rolle in der viñata, wie die Brennereien vor Ort genannt werden. Sie ist eine bekannte cocinera tradicional (Küchenchefin) in der Region und legt die Rezeptur für den Pechuga von Don Mateo fest, der mit Truthahn, Hirsch, Leguan und Hase destilliert wird. Entsprechend taucht sie als maestra mezcalera und Autorin auf diesem Produkt auf. Der Name Don Mateo geht auf Emilios Urgroßvater Mateo Rangel zurück, welcher der dritte Brennmeister der Familie war und dessen Portrait auf dem Etikett zu sehen ist.

 

 

Die Brennerei Barranca del Agua der Vieyras ist ca eine Autostunde von Michoacans Hauptstadt Morelia entfernt in Koniferen reichem, immergrünem Mischwald gelegen. Traditionell werden dort die Agavenarten cupreata (Chino), inaequidens (Alto) und americana (Manso, früher Cenizo) gebrannt, früher aus Wildbeständen, heute auch aus Aufzucht. Dabei werden Jungpflanzen aus Samen angezogen und in ihrem natürlichen Habitat ausgesetzt.

 

Don Mateo produziert mit zwei regional typischen Techniken: Der Spontangärung in Erdgruben, welche mit Eichenholzbalken eingefasst sind. Und einer Pot Still mit interner Kondensation aus Kupfer und Holzdauben, welche vor Ort als alambique filipino bezeichnet wird. Dabei werden statt zwei oder drei fünf „cuts“, also Fraktionen des gebrannten Destillats getrennt: flor (70-58% Vol), mezcal floreado (58-53%), mezcalito (53-44%), fuertes (44-20%) und colas (20 und weniger).

 

Das Wasser zum Ansatz seiner Maische wird einer 200 Metere entfernten Quelle im Wald entnommen. Emilio lagert die frischen Destillate in einem unterirdischen Raum in Glasballons zu Stabilisierung. Seine Mezcals sind im Vergleich zu denen aus Oaxaca etwas leichter und weniger rauchig.

 


Nachhaltigkeit

Don Mateo ist Teil des Bat Friendly Projektes. Hier wird stets 5% aller Agaven einer Pflanzung das Austragen der Blüte ermöglicht, die von Fledermäusen bestäubt werden, die sich vom Nektar der Agave ernähren. Diese kann dann aus genetisch vielfältigen Samen nachgezogen werde. So wird das Überleben der gefährdeten Mexikanischen Blütenfledermaus (Leptonycteris nivalis) ebenso gesichert wie das der genetischen Diversität der Agaven. Generell wirtschaften die Vieyras ohne Chemikalien, weder in der Landwirtschaft noch in der Brennerei.

 

Mezcal Don Matero im SHOP

 

Mezcal Don Mateo im Netz:

Home

 

Artikel

Mezcal Reviews

K&L über den Pechuga von Delia Vargas

Life&Thyme mit ausführlichem Artikel und tollen Bildern über Don Mateo und die Vieyras

 

Bild & Ton

Imagefilm von und über Don Mateo (span./ 6 min.)

Kurzfeature über die Brennerei, Interview mit Emilio (span./ 9 min.)

Videointerview mit Delia Vargas über Frauen in der Mezcalwelt (span./ 6 min.)

 

Weitere Projekte

Bat Friendly

Shop Mezcaleria Berlin